National Resilience Program

National Resilience Program
Location: United States

The National Resilience Program will assist thousands of people to better prepare their communities to mitigate the impact of future natural disasters.

Five regional resilience centers across the United States, operated in partnership with the American Institute of Architects (AIA), Public Architecture, and others, will respond to the threats of natural disasters in five major regions of the United States: Pacific Coast (earthquakes and tsunamis), Gulf Coast (hurricanes and climate change), Midwest (tornadoes and seasonal flooding), Mid-Atlantic (hurricanes), and Northeast (northern storms and urban threats).

The program will dovetail with the 100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge, which will provide a platform of services for a worldwide network of cities. The Challenge is a formal Clinton Global Initiative Commitment to Action pioneered by The Rockefeller Foundation and supported by Architecture for Humanity and others.

Learn more about our resilience efforts >
What our clients think
  • "Getting local buy-in is vital in the project. The more we got them involved, the more we had a chance of these things becoming sustainable into the future.”

    Ian Mills

  • "The actual process was challenging - you learn so much. It's full-on; they involve you. I learned how they constructed it and why, from the foundation to the roof.”

    Karen Parker

    -homeowner, Parker Residence
  • "Sometimes we feel overwhelmed with the many challenges that lay ahead. However, when we see the smile on children’s faces at the youth center, it motivates us to do more and makes it all worth it.”

    Naomi Sato

    -Kitakami "We Are One" Market and Youth Center
  • "Amidst all our students, some may become lawyers, others become doctors or architects that help this country, and the first step is this school."

    Wilson D’Or

    -headmaster,Collège Mixte Le Bon Berger